505 1997 (and 1998) North American Regatta Schedule

Draft - Last Updated December 24, 1997

Click on hi-lighted contact name to e-mail to them. Click on hi-lighted event name to get notice of race. For changes and updates to this schedule, please contact Ali Meller

We strive to keep this schedule accurate and up to date, but cannot guarantee it is. Always contact a regatta organizer to confirm events rather than simply relying on this schedule.

  EventVenueContact
January 3-5Florida MidwintersSt. Petersburg Sailing Center, St. Petersburg, FLEthan Bixby
4-5RYC Midwinters #2RYC, Richmond CASteve Bartz
12Turnbuckle TightenerAlamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
February 1-2RYC Midwinters #3Richmond, CaliforniaSteve Bartz
15-16SCYA MidwinterAlamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
22-23505 SKI WEEKEND @ Alpine MeadowsWhere?Craig Perez
March 15-16St. Francis YC - Spring DinghySan Francisco, CaliforniaMatt Jones
28-30Europa Cup FranceCavalaire FranceFrench 5o5 Association
30Easter RegattaABYC, Long Beach, CaliforniaDon Smith
April 5-61997 High Performance Dinghy RegattaCalifornia Yacht Club, Marina del Ray, Los Angeles, CaliforniaDon Smith
26 - May 3Bermuda Race WeekBermudaAli Meller
26-27SCYC Spring 505 InviteSCYC, Santa Cruz, CaliforniaBruce Edwards
26 - 27AYC Centerboard RegattaAustin, TXScott MacKay
27ABYC Spring Tune UpABYC, Long Beach CaliforniaMike Martin
May 3-4West River SpringWest River Sailing Club, Galesville MDMacy Nelson
8-11Europa Cup Swiss/ItalyRiva del Garda, ItalySwiss 5o5 Association
10-11Richmond YC - SBRARichmond, CaliforniaSteve Bartz
10-11HooverHoover, Columbus OhioGraham Alexander
11-12RCYC Dinghy FestDallas, TXScott MacKay
17-18Hampton TrapezeHampton YC, Hampton VAKen Elliott
17-18Bristol 505Bristol Yacht, Club, Bristol, RINick Trotman
17-18SCC May on the BayHouston, TXScott MacKay
17-18SOCKS - Seattle One-design Centerboard Keelboat SeriesSeattle, WAAlan Johnson
24-25Memorial DayAlamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
24-25Mid-Atlantic Regional RegattaWest River SC, Galesville MDMacy Nelson
30 - June 1Europa Cup BelgiumNieuwpoort, BelgiumBelgian 505 Association
June 6-8East Coast ChampionshipHampton Yacht Club, Hampton VA Ken Elliott
7-8Carter Lake Open RegattaCarter Lake, COKem King
7-8Alberta/Saskatchewan Challenge & Wabumun OpenWabamun S.C, Edmonton, Alberta, CanadaWayne Rootsaert
7-8Jericho ClassicJerico Sailing Club, Vancouver BC CanadaTerence Reynolds
13-15Canadian ChampionshipWabamun S.C, Edmonton, Alberta, CanadaJames Brown
14-15RIISABarrington Yacht Club, Barrington RITom Kivney
14Ian Meller RegattaBritannia Yacht Club, Ottawa, OntarioMichael Hoffman
14-15St. Francis YC - 505/I-14/EuropesSan Francisco, CaliforniaMatt Jones
14-15JunebugFanshawe, London, Ontario, CanadaGraham Alexander
21-22Wyoming Governors CupAlcova Res., Alcova, WYKem King
21-24Europa Cup Germany (Kieler Woche)Keil, GermanyChristine Komma
28-29Lake MillsMadison, WisconsinGraham Alexander
28-29AYC Governor's CupAYC, Austin, TXScott MacKay
28-30W.A.V.E.S.Royal Vancouver Yatch Club, Vancouver BC CanadaTerence Reynolds
July
5-6Hampton AnnualHampton YC, Hampton VAKen Elliott
5-6Dillon 4th of July RegattaLake DillonKem King
5-6pre NAs regattaAlamitos Bay YC, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
5-6Kits InvitationalKitsilano YC, Vancouver, BC, CanadaTerence Reynolds
7-111997 SeaLand 505 North American ChampionshipAlamitos Bay YC, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
12-13Sandusky, Ohio summerSandusky, OhioGraham Alexander
19Nepean Sailing RegattaNepean Sailing Club, Ottawa, Ontario, CanadaMichael Hoffman
25-27Hyannis Annual RegattaHyannis Yacht Club, Hyannis, MA (site of '98 Worlds!)Gerard Kivney
26-27Huntington Lake (unconfirmed)Where? CAMark Elliot
August 2-3Santa Cruz YCSanta Cruz, CaliforniaBruce Edwards
2-3Dillon OpenLake Dillon, CO ( The highest regatta in the country)Kem King
9-10Jackson ParkJackson Park, Chicago, IllinoisGraham Alexander
9-10Fishing Bay AnnualFishing Bay YC, Deltaville VAMacy Nelson
9-10Montrose or Le Forest??? Montrose or Lake Forest???Graham Alexander
9-10National Capital RegattaBritannia Yacht Club, Ottawa, Ontario, CanadaMichael Hoffman
10-12 Pre Worlds Gilleleje Denmarkinfo.
13-21World ChampionshipGilleleje Denmarkinfo.
16-17NBYC 505 RegattaNew Bedford Yacht Club, South Dartmouth, MANeal Fowler
16-17CORC - Colorado One Design Club - OpenTBA ???Kem King
21-24Eastern Canadian 505 Championship (CORK)Portsmouth Olympic Harbour, Kingston, Ontario, CanadaSteve Yates
30-31ABYC Labor DayAlamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
30-31Palacios Labor Day RegattaPalacios, TXScott MacKay
30-Sept 1Nebraska Governors CupLake McConaughy, Ogallala NebraskaKem King
30-Sept 1Alberta 505 Championships (tentative)AlbertaWayne Rootsaert
September
6-7EBOC closerJerico Sailing Club, Vancouver, British Columbia, CanadaTerence Reynolds
13-14Fleet Four RegattaNepean Sailing Club, Nepean, Ontario, CanadaMarg Hurley
13-14West River Mid-AtlanticsWest River SC, Galesville MDMacy Nelson
18-21Hyannis pre-preworldsHyannis Yacht Club, Hyannis MATom Kivney
19-21Europa Cup England (Hayling)HISC, Hayling Island, EnglandSimon J. Lake
20-21Sandusky, Ohio/Fall (Midwest Championship)Sandusky OhioGraham Alexander
20-21Pacific Coast ChampionshipRichmond YC, Richmond, CACraig Perez
27Treasure Island YC -SBRA (27th only) (Not Confirmed)Where? CASteve Bartz
27-28BC 505 Champs??? British Columbia, Canada 
October 4-5IUYC 2nd Annual HoosierBloomington, Indiana/Lake LemonMike Goldstein
4-5Karl Miller RegattaWest River SC, Galesville MDMacy Nelson
4-5SCC Endless SummerSCC, Houston, TXScott MacKay
11-12PumpkinFanshawe, London, Ontario CanadaGraham Alexander
11-12Nashville, Tenn/?Nashville, Tenn/?Graham Alexander
11-12AYC Fall RegattaAYC, Austin, TXScott MacKay
11-12Sandy Hook 505 RegattaSandy Hook, NJJohn Wyles
11-12Shilshole Bay One Design Fleet ChampionshipsSeattle WAAlan Johnson
18-19Pumpkin PatchWest River SC, Galesville MDMacy Nelson
November1 HalloweenAlamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
1-2LCYC Wurstfest RegattaLCYC, New Braunfels, TXScott Mackay
1-2Training/CoachingWest River SC, Galesville MDAllan Freedman
16-17Hampton 505 training/regattaHampton YC, Hampton VAHenry Amthor
22505 Santa Cruz Winter SeriesSanta Cruz YC, Santa Cruz, CAMike Holt
22-23Turkey DayAlamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach, CAMike Martin
29-30Training/Speed WorkWest River SC, Galesville, MDMacy Nelson
30505 Santa Cruz Winter SeriesSanta Cruz YC, Santa Cruz, CAMike Holt
December 6RYC MidwintersRichmond, CaliforniaSteve Bartz
6505 Santa Cruz Winter SeriesSanta Cruz YC, Santa Cruz, CAMike Holt
13-14 or 20-21505 Training somewhere in NC/SC/Georgia(very tentative)Jonathan Phillips


Regatta Contacts
 E-mailhomeworkfax
Matt SandersFiveOhFive@aol.com 408 761 4427 
Bruce EdwardsBruceEdw@aol.com408 469 3980408 761-4211 
Don Smith 310 997-0226 310 479-4121  
Macy Nelsonmacyann@aol.com410 947-1998410 752-1630410 752-0085
Allan Freedmanhollylee@ziplink.net301 589 6738202-887-8540 
Ethan Bixbyethan@sales.northsails.com 813 898 1123 
Mike Martinmmartin@cbm.canon.com 310 493 2061 714 433 8822 714 433 8134
Neal Fowler 401 683-5846 401 683 7601
Marg Hurleymihurley@revcan.ca613 820-7618613 954-8472 
Urs RothacherUrs.Rothacher@nb.rockwell.com   
Steve Yatesyates@adan.kingston.net613 384-8200613 384-8200 
Christine KommaKOMMA@hbz-nrw.de   
Dean Rootsaertdar@gpu.srv.ualberta.ca(403)487-2544  
Bill Healey 860 739 4011  
Scott MacKayScott.Mackay@sematech.org512 833-8568 512 356-3617 
Nick Trotmanbrainwrk@ici.net508-526-1132  
Mike Millsgrin@worldnet.att.net203-245-6286  
Gerard Kivney 508-362-1307  
Tom Kivneytom@louisagreen.com617-749-0617617 884-6820 617 884-2287
Steve Bartzbartz505@aol.com415-948-5604 415 948 8045
Craig Perezcperez@saclink.csus.edu916-677-2379  :
Matt Jones 415-563-6363  
Mark Elliot 310-420-2588  
Mike Goldsteinmikeg@indiana.edu 812-337-0212812-855-1297812-855-0411
Alan Johnsonaljohnso@Adobe.com206-781-3404206-470-7314 
Simon J. LakeSimon_J_Lake@Compuserve.com   
James Brownjames.brown@airliquide.com   
Wayne Rootsaertwrootsae@gpu.srv.ualberta.ca   
Terence ReynoldsTERENCE_REYNOLDS@HP-Canada-om1.om.hp.com   
Michael Hoffmanmichael@robbert.ca   
John Wyleswylesjohn@worldnet.att.net914 693 0193212 592 6918212 592 6714
Graham Alexanderalexandg@battelle.org614 861-1491614 424-7709 
Ali Melleralimeller@aol.com301 963 0159703 414 4010 
Jonathan Phillipssail505@email.unc.edu919 933-6621  
Henry Amthor 757 722-8377757 873-0994757 873-2396
Chris Hankechrish@mti.sgi.com   
Jeff Boydboydj@fcbe.edu.on.ca613-546-7110 : 
Kem KingKemKing@gwl.com   
Ken ElliottKen's e-mail   
Mike Holtholtie@worldnet.att.net408 688 3878  
David Collinsdavidcollins@mindspring.com310 854 5443  
David Sheltonsheltonj@ix.netcom.com408 463 0800  
Paul Von Greyhatay@mail.whidbey.net   


[What's New] [Search] [Schedules] [Why a 505?] [The Boat] [The People] [Getting In] [Getting Better] [New & Used] [More Information] [505 Forum] [Association] [Fleets] [Home]